How it works?
With Bookspot, you can search and find the best price on your favourite books from a range of leading online bookstores!
The Year The Maps Changed by Danielle Binks

The Year The Maps Changed

By Danielle Binks

  • ISBN: 9780734419712
  • Published: 2020-04-28
  • Binding: Paperback

Where to Buy:

$15.75 Angus & Robertson $7.95 Delivery. Free over $60 Shop now
$15.95 Booktopia $7.95 Delivery Shop now
$17.99 QBD Books $5.95 Delivery. Free over $60 Shop now
$17.99 Dymocks $6.99 Delivery ($8.99 Express) Shop now
$17.99 Catch Delivery cost varies Shop now

Book Description:


One extraordinary year will change them all...

Sorrento, Victoria, 1999. Fred's family is a mess. Her mother died when she was six and she's been raised by her Pop and adoptive father, Luca, ever since. But now Pop's had to go away, and Luca's girlfriend Anika and her son have moved in. More and more it feels like a land-grab for family and Fred is the one being left off the map.

Even as things feel like they're spinning out of control for Fred, a crisis from the other side of the world comes crashing in. When a group of Kosovar-Albanian refugees are brought to a government 'safe haven' not far from Sorrento, their fate becomes intertwined with the lives of Fred and her family in ways that no one could have expected.

A middle-grade coming-of-age story inspired by true events about the bonds of family, the weight of grief and the power of compassion for fans of The Bone Sparrow, Wolf Hollow and The Thing About Jellyfish.

About the Author

Danielle Binks is a Melbourne-based writer, reviewer, agent, book blogger and Youth Literature Advocate. In 2017, she edited and contributed to Begin, End, Begin , an anthology of new Australian young adult writing inspired by the #LoveOzYA movement, which won the ABIA Book of the Year for Older Children (Ages 13+) and was shortlisted in the 2018 Gold Inky Awards. The Year the Maps Changed is Danielle's debut middle-grade novel.

Read more