How it works?
With Bookspot, you can search and find the best price on your favourite books from a range of leading online bookstores!
The Hummingbird Effect by Kate Mildenhall Paperback book

The Hummingbird Effect

By Kate Mildenhall

  • ISBN: 9781760855284
  • Published: 2023-08-02
  • Binding: Paperback

Where to Buy:

$22.99 QBD Books $5.95 Delivery. Free over $60 Shop now
$26.95 Booktopia $7.95 Delivery Shop now
$27.50 Angus & Robertson $7.95 Delivery Shop now

Book Description:

An epic, kaleidoscopic story of four women connected across time and place by an invisible thread and their determination to shape their own stories, from the acclaimed author of The Mother Fault.

One of the lucky few with a job during the Depression, Peggy's just starting out in life. She's a bagging girl at the Angliss meatworks, a place buzzing with life as well as death, where the gun slaughterman Jack has caught her eye - and she his.

How is her life connected to Hilda's, almost a hundred years later, locked inside during a plague, or La's, further on again, a singer working shifts in a warehouse as her eggs are frozen and her voice is used by AI bots? Let alone Maz, far removed in time, diving for remnants of a past that must be destroyed? Is it by the river that runs through their stories, eternal yet constantly changing - or by the mysterious Hummingbird Project, and the great question of whether the march of progress can ever be reversed?

Propulsive, tender and engrossing, this genre-bending novel is a feast for the heart as well as the mind and senses. For fans of David Mitchell's Cloud Atlas, Michelle de Kretser's The Life to Come and Jennifer Egan's The Candy House, it confirms Mildenhall as one of the most ambitious and dynamic writers in the country.

About the Author

Kate Mildenhall is a writer and teacher. Her debut novel, Skylarking , was named in Readings Top Ten Fiction Books of 2016 and her bestselling The Mother Fault was longlisted for the 2021 ABIA General Fiction Book of the Year and shortlisted for the 2020 Aurealis Awards. Kate teaches creative writing and co-hosts The First Time podcast - which features conversations with Australian writers - and is currently undertaking a PhD in creative practice at RMIT University. Kate lives in Hurstbridge on Wurundjeri lands, with her partner and two children. Kate's third novel is The Hummingbird Effect.

Find out more at QBD Books

Read more
The Hummingbird Effect

The Hummingbird Effect

By Kate Mildenhall Paperback
#1 $22.99
Disclosure: We believe in transparency, and as such would like you to know that certain links are affiliate links, meaning we receive a commission if you decide to make a purchase through these links, at no cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, and as an affiliate of many of the other retailers displayed on Bookspot, I earn from qualifying purchases.